time to answer a lame new year’s survey.

  • What did you do in 2007 that you’d never done before? 
    • Got a perm
    • Stuck to a hobby
    • Went scuba diving
    • Tried freelancing
  • Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
    • Well, I think I was able to reach my goal of making a difference in 2007. Hard, but yeah, I survived and passed on the goal to others as well.
    • I changed my resolution. I’ll love myself more this year.
  • Did anyone close to you give birth?
    • Yes, Sig, my boss’s wife.
  • Did anyone close to you die?
    • No. Thank God (2006 was the difficult year).
  • What countries did you visit?
    • HK
    • China
  • What would you like to have in 2008 that you lacked in 2007?
    • A real, honest-to-goodness, saccharine-sweet, mushy, genuine, heartwarming, but hot and steamy, love life.
    • A comfortable disposition at home
    • Appreciation of what I do
  • What dates from 2007 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
    • Surprisingly, none. 2007 was an uneventful year. Comme ci, comme ça.
  • What was your biggest achievement of the year?
    • I guess finding more time for myself, prioritizing life over and above work.
    • Having friends that understand me, but keep me grounded and in place.
    • I smoothly moved from being a suit to being a strategic planner and IT person (from a person who had to make a living out of being an OCD to a geek and open, free-spirited creative person)
    • Being considered to be part of the core group of Project: Brave Kids (I declined; I’m happy as a volunteer)
    • Doing the freelance gigs at the start of the year
    • Being there when people needed me
  • What was your biggest failure?
    • I somehow lost the ff: my mojo, my drive and my motivation.
  • Did you suffer illness or injury?
    • Jellyfish sting on both legs, and the scars are ugly.
    • Broken heart
  • What was the best thing you bought?
    • My Canon Rebel Xti
    • My scuba gear
    • Coco (my 3rd dog)
  • Where did most of your money go?
    • Camera accessories and equipment
    • Diving
    • Dog stuff
  • Whose behavior merited celebration?
    • My friend Redge who is making a difference, his own little way.
    • Paul, my boss and friend. He is one brave soul.
    • Lynne, my best friend who I think I did not treat well enough. She was always there for me.
  • Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? 
    • Karl (not appalled, just depressed)
    • Well, a few friends who ran off with my goldfish (think: Jerry Maguire)
    • My former boss from hell who is still with Lowe (he’s not really good, so I’m still wondering why he’s there. He over-utilized me.)
  • What did you get really, really, really excited about?
    • My camera’s arrival (as I ordered it from the US)
    • My new laptop
    • Coming home each time I’d travel
  • What song will always remind you of 2007? OOOH THAT’S A HARD ONE! I have a list:
    • Stop This Train by John Mayer (I just wanted to take a break from all this, life was moving too fast, in my opinion)
    • Stoned by Dido (Karl introduced this song to me in 07, although it reminded me of those 2006 phone calls — when “he was stoned, and I was drunk”.)
    • Chanson du Soleil by DJ Meme (*sigh*)
    • Pure Shores by All Saints (“Take me to the beach”)
  • Compared to this time last year, are you:
    • Happier or sadder HAPPIER
    • Older or wiser WISER
    • Thinner or fatter? THINNER
    • Richer or poorer RICHER
  • What do you wish you’d done more of?
    • Sleeping
    • Saving up
    • Traveling
  • What do you wish you’d done less of?
    • Partying
    • Talking about Andre
  • What did you want and get?
    • My camera
    • A career shift
  • What did you want and did not get?
    • Karl (but come to think of it, that’s fine.)
  • How did you spend Christmas?
    • Christmas Eve with relatives
    • Sick on Christmas Day
  • Did you fall in love in 2007?
    • Oh yes, but had to fall out fast
  • Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
    • Nope
  • What was the best book you read?
    • The Missing Piece Meets the Big O
  • What was your greatest musical discovery?
    • John Mayer
  • What was your favorite film of this year?
    • Funny, but I’ve never seen any movie in 07
  • What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
    • Spent it at the Ad Congress, with friends.
    • 32 years old
  • What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
    • Karl (but I guess it satisfies me that I know he’s happy)
  • How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2007?
    • Very comfortable and laidback (jeans, shirt and running shoes are my usual threads)
  • What kept you sane?
    • My dogs
    • John Mayer (haha)
    • Friends
    • Family
    • BEER
  • Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
    • John Mayer
  • What political issue stirred you the most?
    • The Manila Pen mutiny
    • Benazir Bhutto’s assassination
  • Who did you miss?
    • Redge
    • Sam
    • My sister Cecille and her son Manuel
    • My team at 141/Ogilvy Action
  • Who was the best new person you met?
    • Is it possible to say that I met John Mayer through his songs?
    • Rico Blanco, formerly from Rivermaya
    • Tammy, our project manager. A crazy woman who makes me look tamed. Haha.
  • Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2007:
    • I should use the word “No” more often
    • Closure is a mindset
    • I am responsible for my destiny, so I have to prioritize myself, my career and my future  first.
  • Quote a song lyric that sums up your year: QUOTING A FEW LINES FROM A SONG (Good Love is on the Way) —
    • “I’ve been lonely but I know I’ll be okay, good love is on the way.”
    • “Done with broken people, this is me I’m working on.”
One thought on “time to answer a lame new year’s survey.”

Leave a Reply

