School Spirit, the Filipino Way

Today was game 1 of the biggest basketball event in the Philippines — the sweet thing is that it’s a match-up made in scalper’s heaven as the university league’s 2 most popular teams, whose rivalry is legendary in the Philippine’s collegiate sports history, Ateneo de Manila University Blue Eagles and De La Salle University Green Archers, played for the championship crown.

Honestly, this is the only time of the year that I get involved in sports, and being a fan of Collegiate Basketball, I cut my dive trip short just to be able to go home, watch the game on TV, while my friends and I cheered for our guys (here’s a hint… I was wearing blue).

Weird that I didn’t watch live as I’m an alumna of the Ateneo (Bachelor of Arts, Social Science, graduating class of 1997) and a die-hard Blue Eagles lover (I will forever be loyal to my school, the best in my opinion)… but the match is a historic one that tickets were sold out the day they were released. ALL 24,000 tickets, GONE.

AteneoBlueEagle The Eagles soared high today, showing off their prowess in defense, not letting the Archers choke the hell out of them. Every player did a great job, so double-teaming of the opponent was always a bad move, but even if each had his own strengths, I’m proud of them because they always played with their hearts offered to the team. Good job guys.

I can’t wait to see Game 2, as we try to sweep the best of 3 series.

One big fight!

Leave a Reply

