Hummingbird

A rare performance indeed.

John Mayer featured this song, entitled “Hummingbird”, during his On His Own, The 2nd Annual Holiday Charity Revue concert.

A special treat to his audience because, aside from it being one of the most beautiful songs he has ever written, it was never part of any commercially-released studio album, but was debuted in one of his live shows during the early part of his career and was only performed a few times to date.

A simple, yet heart-wrenching song that people can relate to.

Once upon almost every morning
I woke up to find her flying in
Hummingbird was making blurs of
Blue and rings of purple in the air

All the while, I was trying to keep her there
Not man enough to need
But man enough to always care

Hummingbird
Hummingbird
That song I heard
That’s my hummingbird

Just because I said I didn’t want her
Doesn’t mean I want her to go
In fact I quite depended on her
But that, I didn’t want her to know

Now that she’s gone I know
All the while, I was trying to keep her there
Not man enough to need
But man enough to always care, always care

Hummingbird
Hummingbird
That song I heard
That’s my hummingbird
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

And when he played it during the concert at the Nokia Theatre LA Live that one-of-a-kind connection he has with his fans was established once again.

Leave a Reply

