An Open Letter to Gil Grissom

Dear Mr. Grissom, (can I call you Gil?)

So you have finally left CSI after almost a decade of keeping me company while we watched gruesome murders being investigated.

And the very minute you turned your back at me, my journey towards coping starts, beginning with the question, “What will happen to us?”

How will I survive my week without you and your odd sense of humor?

Now it's safe to tell you that the reason why Nick and the others laugh at your jokes is that you're their boss.

or your hidden, yet strong, compassion for your crew?

Who would forget the tears when Warrick died in your arms?

Your amazing geeky ways…

Nerds became cool because of you.

to find the evidence?

You let the evidence tell you the story, right?

How about your quirks?

You are a weird man, Mr. Grissom.

Your personal baggage?

You had major issues in the past.
You had major issues in the past.

The bugs?

Only you will ever understand why you have that fascination towards these creatures.

The crossword puzzles?

We will never get over the fact that you did not finish your last puzzle.
We will never get over the fact that you did not finish your last puzzle.

The Shakespeare quotes?

Sometimes you had me rushing to Wikipedia whenever you utter those lines.
Sometimes you had me rushing to Wikipedia whenever you utter those lines.

Your beard?

Your audience eventually got used to it.

And your pout?

The Zoolander in you, Sir.
The Zoolander in you, Sir.

You made me deal with you oddities, and now that I’ve gotten used to them, you decide to leave.

It’s not fair.

You left me with no choice but to accept the fact that your little night-shift family will not be the same without you.

You have always been in the middle.
It'll definitely be weird for me not to see your face in the group poses.

Sigh. I should be happy for you, I know. You have finally found the happiness that you deserve. Because I understand that nothing is greater than being with the person who will make you complete…

Whats up with that shirt?
What's up with that shirt?

…even if you didn’t end up with the right one.

Its not my business, but you have to realize that she is the one for you.
It's not my business, but you have to realize that she's the one for you.

It’s just that Gris (can I call you Gris instead?) I have to admit, CSI will not be CSI without you. Catherine’s inappropriate seductive stance, Nick’s hilariously projected concentration and Greg’s anticipated fumbles were all forgiven once I see you take charge.

It’s so sad that you will just be a pleasant memory in my mind, as I watch the next guy do your job (heard he’s good as he trained Neo to fix the matrix, you know).

As you enjoy the rest of your life in Costa Rica, please promise me that you will make your presence felt from time to time — alone (leave her there, we’ll be fine).

Goodbye Gil Grissom, you will be missed.

Sincerely,

SORD

One thought on “An Open Letter to Gil Grissom”

  1. I know it’s been three years since you posted this and I just found it today… I totally understand how you feel for Grissom! I felt the same too! When I’ve grown so used to him, he left. I’ve been asking “Why?” and continually hope that he would come back once in awhile. I’m now rewatching CSI LV from the very beginning… I simply miss Grissom.

    Thank you for this post that shares how I felt for Grissom.

Leave a Reply

