Scavenger Hunt Status

Here’s the complete list of the songs that Jeff Buckley has ever performed and/or recorded – thanks to the people over at JBC.

Note that:

  1. This was generated in 2007, and apparently, according to recent reports, there are still a few songs that have yet to see the light of day.
  2. The list below only reflected one version per song, to avoid clutter, but given that he has done numerous gigs in his short life, there are a lot of interesting variations that are worth securing – for example, the purely acoustic guitar performance he did at KROQ-FM of the song “Last Goodbye” was magical, and can very well be the simplest, most effortless display of his guitar skills, unlike the album version which is still awesome, but in a complicated, ga-zillion chords way; and his solo take of “All Flowers in Time Bend Towards the Sun” seemed much much more emotional than the recorded duet.

I’ve crossed out the ones that I already have to give you an idea on how far I’ve gone. However, I don’t plan on acquiring all the songs, as I have already rejected a few, like “Malign Fiesta” (too noisy) and “Auld Lang Syne” (why would I want to hear him sing that, anyway?) The frustrating part really is not being able to find the must-haves like “Round Here (Counting Crows cover)”, “Everyday People (Sly and the Family Stone cover)” and “Flutter Girl (Chris Cornell cover)”.

Jeff at the Knitting Factory, February 1997
Jeff at the Knitting Factory, February 1997

3 Is A Magic Number (School House Rock) Unreleased track

Ace of Spades (Motorhead) Unreleased track

Alive (Drugstore) Unreleased track

All Flowers In Time Bend Towards The Sun Unreleased track

All Tomorrow’s Parties (Velvet Underground) Unreleased track

• Alligator Wine (Screamin’ Jay Hawkins) Grace Legacy Edition

• Angel Mine (Jack Kerouac) Guest appearance on Kicks Joy Darkness

• Auld Lang Syne (traditional) Unreleased track

Back In N.Y.C. (Genesis) Sketches For My Sweetheart The Drunk

• Be Your Husband (Nina Simone) Live At Sin E

Beneath The Southern Cross (Patti Smith) Guest appearance on Gone Again

Bluebird Blues Unreleased track

• The Brady Bunch theme song (instrumental) Unreleased track

• Burning Inside (Ministry) Unreleased track

Calling You (Jevetta Steele) Live at Sin-e’

• Carolyn’s fingers (Cocteau Twins) Unreleased track

• Catnip Dream (Shonen Knife) Unreleased track

• Comicosmics Unreleased track

Corpus Christi Carol (Benjamin Britten) Grace

Cruel Songs To No One

• Curtains (Elton John) Unreleased track

Demon John Sketches (For My Sweetheart The Drunk)

Despite The Tears (Seedy Orchestra) Guest appearance on Puzzle

Dido’s Lament (Henry Purcell) Unreleased track

Dink’s Song (Fare Thee Well) (traditional) Live at Sin E

• Distortion Unreleased track

Dream Brother Grace

• Dream Of A Russian Princess Unreleased track

Drown In My Tears (H. Glover) Live at Sin-E’

• Edna Frau Unreleased track

Eternal Life Grace

• Everybody Here Wants You Sketches (For My Sweetheart The Drunk)

• Everyday People (Sly and the Family Stone) Unreleased track

Faith Salons (Brenda Kahn) Guest appearance on Destination Anywhere

• Farewell Angelina (Bob Dylan) Unreleased track

• Forget Her Grace Legacy Edition

• Flutter Girl (Chris Cornell) Unreleased track

• Frankenstein (instrumental) (Edgar Winter) Unreleased track

Good Morning Little Schoolgirl (Lightnin’ Hopkins) Unreleased track

Grace Grace

Gunshot Glitter Sketches (For My Sweetheart The Drunk)

Hallelujah (Leonard Cohen) Grace

• Hallelujah/I Know It’s Over (Leonard Cohen/The Smiths) Mystery White Boy

• Harem Man Songs To No One

Haven’t You Heard Sketches For My Sweetheart The Drunk

• How Long Will It Take (Pat Kelly) Songs To No One

• Hymne A L’Amour (Edith Piaf) Songs To No One

• Hymn To Love Unreleased track

I Against I (Bad Brains) Unreleased track

• I Know It’s Over (The Smiths) Unreleased track

• I Know We Could Be So Happy Baby (If We Wanted To Be) Sketches For My..

• I Loves You Porgy (George Gershwin) Unreleased track

I Never Asked To Be Your Mountain (Tim Buckley) Unreleased track

• I Shall Be Released (Bob Dylan) Live At Sin E

• I Want Someone Badly Grace Legacy Edition

• I Woke Up In A Strange Place Mystery White Boy

• If You Knew (Nina Simone) Live At Sin E

• If You See Her, Say Hello (Bob Dylan) Live At Sin E

• Ivo (Cocteau Twins) Unreleased track

• In The Cantina Unreleased track

Je N’En Connais Pas La Fin (Edith Piaf) Live At Sin E

• Jewel Box Sketches For My Sweetheart The Drunk

• Jolly Street (Jazz Passengers) Guest appearance on In Love

• Just Like A Woman (Bob Dylan) Live At Sin E

Kashmir (Led Zeppelin) Live a l’Olympia

Kangaroo (Big Star) Grace Legacy Edition

Kick Out The Jams (The MC5) Live At Sin E

Killing Time (The Creatures) Unreleased track

Land Of The Giants tv movie theme (instrumental) Unreleased track

Last Goodbye Grace

• Last Month Of The Year (traditional) Unreleased track

Let’s Bomb The Moonlight Unreleased track

Lilac Wine (Nina Simone) Grace

• Lost Highway (Hank Williams) Grace Legacy Edition

• Lover, You Should’ve Come Over Grace

• Madame George (Van Morrison) Unreleased track

• Malign Fiesta (No Soul) Songs To No One

Mama You’ve Been On My Mind (Bob Dylan) Grace Legacy Edition

• Mojo Pin Grace

• Mood Swing Whiskey Mystery White Boy

• Morning Theft Sketches For My Sweetheart The Drunk

Murder Suicide Meteor Slave Sketches For My Sweetheart The Drunk

New Year’s Prayer Sketches For My Sweetheart The Drunk

• Night Flight (Led Zeppelin) Live At Sin E

• Nightmares By The Sea Sketches For My Sweetheart The Drunk

• No One Must Find You Here Unreleased track

• No Soul Unreleased track

Once I Was (Tim Buckley) Unreleased track

• Opened Once Sketches For My Sweetheart The Drunk

• Ozark Melody Unreleased track

Parchman Farm (Mose Allison) Grace Legacy Edition

• Parlez Moi D’Amour (Edith Piaf) Unreleased track

• Peace Offering Unreleased track

People’s Parties (Joni Mitchell) Unreleased track

Phantasmagoria In Two (Tim Buckley) Unreleased track

Please Send Me Someone To Love (Percy Mayfield) Unreleased track

• Radio Unreleased track

River Of Dope Unreleased track

• Rock Me Baby (B.B.King) Unreleased track

• Round Here (Counting Crows) Unreleased track

Satisfied Mind (Porter Wagoner) Sketches For My Sweetheart The Drunk

• She Is Free Songs To No One

Sefronia – The king’s chain (Tim Buckley) Unreleased track

• So Real Grace

• Story Without Words Unreleased track

Strange Fruit (Billie Holiday) Live At Sin E

• Strawberry Street Grace Legacy Edition

• Sweet Thing (Van Morrison) Live At Sin E

That’s All I Ask (Nina Simone) Mystery White Boy & Live a l’Olympia

The Boy With The Thorn In His Side (The Smiths) Unreleased track

• The Man I Am Unreleased track

The Man That Got Away (Judy Garland) Mystery White Boy

• The Other Woman (Nina Simone) Grace Legacy Edition

• The Sky Is A Landfill Sketches For My Sweetheart The Drunk

• The Way Young Lovers Do (Van Morrison) Live At Sin E

• There Is A Light That Never Goes Out (The Smiths) Unreleased track

• Thief Without The Take (duet with Inger Lorre) Unreleased track

• Thousand Fold Unreleased track

Twelfth Of Never (Livingston/Webster) Live At Sin E

• Ulalume (Edgar Allan Poe) Closed On An Account Of Rabies (tribute album)

• Untitled “Man I Was” Unreleased track

Vancouver Sketches For My Sweetheart The Drunk

• We All Fall In Love Sometimes (Elton John) Unreleased track

• What Will You Say Mystery White Boy

• When My Loves Comes Down Unreleased track

When The Levee Breaks (Led Zeppelin) Unreleased track

White Man Trouble Unreleased track

• Wild Is The Wind (Nina Simone) Unreleased track

Will The Circle Be Unbroken (traditional) Unreleased track

Witches’ Rave Sketches For My Sweetheart The Drunk

• Yard Of Blonde Girls (Inger Lorre) Sketches For My Sweetheart The Drunk

• Yeh Jo Halka (Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan) Live At Sin E

• You & I Sketches For My Sweetheart The Drunk

You & I (Guitar Version) Unreleased track

Your Flesh Is So Nice Sketches For My Sweetheart The Drunk

Sigh… searching for rare John Mayer songs wasn’t this hard! I found John’s cover of Jeff’s “Lover, You Should’ve Come Over” on my first try! Plus, I stumbled upon his version of “Mojo Pin” by mere accident.

2 thoughts on “Scavenger Hunt Status”

  1. Hi there — I found your site by doing a search for Jeff Buckley’s recording of “Madame George”. I can’t seem to find this song anywhere; apparently it’s from a bootleg or demo recording? Anyhow, I notice that this is one of the songs on your impressive list that you already own. Could you please give me some guidance as to where I could find the recording? I would love to have it on my iPod. Many thanks for any help you can offer; please email me.
    Best regards, and good luck finding the other songs on your list!
    Holly

Leave a Reply

