A dream performance

John Mayer has been very vocal in the past regarding his admiration for Jeff Buckley, even listing “Last Goodbye” and “Lover, You Should Have Come Over” as his favorites. So it wouldn’t be a surprise that he covers Jeff’s songs during his live performances, right?

Well, the surprising thing is that he rarely does it! And to make things worse for a JB-JM fan like me, these rare occasions would only offer snippets within John’s own songs (Except that one time when he sang “Lover…” from start to finish because of audience pressure).

Let’s see… here are “covers” that I know so far:

1.  “Lover, You Should Have Come Over” Waco, Texas 2002  – the only exciting part there is that he covered it in full, other than that, it was just one of those nice-to-have tunes.

2. “Mojo Pin” (within “Vultures”) Mayercraft Carrier Show 2008 – as much as I love John, I have to say this… it was pretty bad. If Jeff sang it beautifully, John just wailed like a drunk karaoke singer.

3. “Last Goodbye” (within “I Don’t Trust Myself”) Atlanta, Georgia 2008 – This was rather difficult for me… while John did it effortlessly as an intro, any alteration on the beat and tempo (I really do hope Scarlett Johanssen will get to read this) on that song will release the devil in me. It’s one of those “sing it as it really is” type of tunes as far as I’m concerned.

So wait, it seems that I didn’t like any of the covers he has done (there might be other instances that I have not discovered yet)…  does that mean that I agree with him when he said that one of his rules was “never cover a Jeff Buckley song” (a tough one to do, I understand, since the only JB cover I liked was Natalie Merchant‘s “Last Goodbye”)?

If I didn’t give him the benefit of the doubt, then I wouldn’t be a nice, loving fan, right? All I had to do was quit searching for his JB covers.

Then yesterday, out of the blue, I stumbled upon a live recording of “Covered in Rain”. As I was checking it out, I suddenly heard familiar lines expertly incorporated towards the end of the song.

It was a dream mash-up. It was perfect.

Here’s the video…

Leave a Reply

