I repeat, I am not fond of movies…

But I watched the 81st Annual Academy Awards on TV, live via satellite.

I’m sure you have already read the list of winners all over the net, but let me join the bandwagon:

Best Motion Picture: Slumdog Millionaire
Best Actor: Sean Penn (Milk)
Best Actress: Kate Winslet (The Reader)
Best Director: Danny Boyle (Slumdog Millionaire)
Best Supporting Actor: Heath Ledger+ (The Dark Knight)
Best supporting Actress: Penelope Cruz (Vicky Cristina Barcelona)
Best Screenplay: Dustin Lance Black (Milk)
Best Animated Film: Wall-E

My thoughts:

1. Hugh Jackman turned his stage time into a one-man Broadway show. Still gathering my opinions about it.

2. Anne Hathaway was breathtaking. I have to agree with what Shirley Maclaine said when she introduced her as a Best Actress nom.

3. Tine Faye and Steve Martin as presenters – hilarious!

4. Angelina Jolie laughing at Jennifer Aniston’s and Jack Black’s jokes was WEIRD and AWKWARD.

5. WALL-E!!!!

6. A French-titled Animated Short Film by a Japanese Director… love it. I laughed out loud when he read out the Styx’s “Mr. Roboto” lines.

7. Daniel Craig… I think I fainted… and woke up to Cuba Gooding, Jr...

8. His tribute/introduction to Robert Downey Jr. for the Best Supporting Actor category was funny.

9. Cried buckets of tears when Heath Ledger was named Best Supporting Actor and when Paul Newman was shown at the end of the tribute to those who have left us in 2008.

10. Sophia Loren looked fantastic.

11. Robert De Niro‘s intro to Sean Penn was very personal and endearing – proving that they really are friends.

12. Sean Penn’s speech was amazing. Kudos to him for welcoming Mickey Rourke back. Didn’t get his “You commie, homo-loving sons of guns” comment though.

13. But hand’s down, the best speech came from Dustin Lance Black. Very poignant and full of hope,

14. Hey, Beyonce was lipsynching. tsk tsk.

15. The best parts were the actors’ categories where in 5 past winners introduced nominees. Each of the spiels were personally crafted by the presenters inevitably touching the hearts of all the nominees. It’s as if they were trying to deliberate on who deserves to be inducted to their little fraternity.

16. Imagine the pride the winner had when he was welcomed by his predecessors upon reaching the stage and when they all left together, as soon as the speech was done.

17. The entire crew of Slumdog Millionaire joined the producer when he accepted the award for Best Picture – this made me smile.

18. Show was long, but because of the unique approach, I didn’t mind it at all.

19. Where was George Clooney, my man?

20. I kinda miss the Jack Nicholson banters.

2 thoughts on “I repeat, I am not fond of movies…”

Leave a Reply

