Cat Stevens’ “The Wind”

Maybe because of Boyzone‘s cover of “Father and Son”, which irritates the hell out of me, I didn’t really give Cat Stevens even a second of my ear time. But thanks to my adoration of the movie, “Almost Famous”, I am now a proud owner of one of Mr. Stevens’ (or Steven Demetre or Yusuf Islam – whatever he is called nowadays) tunes.

The reason why I love it, aside from the fact that Cameron Crowe and I have the same taste in music, is that the song is about self-reflection. A very simple song which tells us that eventually, we will all learn from our past and be at peace.

Have I already experienced that peace of mind? The serenity? No not really, but the song gives me hope.

Teaser and the Firecat album cover
Image via Wikipedia

“THE WIND”

I listen to the wind
to the wind of my soul
Where I’ll end up well I think,
only God really knows
I’ve sat upon the setting sun
But never, never never never
I never wanted water once
No, never, never, never

I listen to my words but
they fall far below
I let my music take me where
my heart wants to go
I swam upon the devil’s lake
But never, never never never
I’ll never make the same mistake
No, never, never, never

Leave a Reply

