Weekend Playlist

John Mayer

Album: Battle Studies

0001-johnmayer-battlestudies

Yup, it has finally dropped in record bars and in iTunes. While the actual CD has yet to reach our shores (CALLING CAPITOL RECORDS WHERE ARE THE COPIES FOR THE PHILIPPINES???) I got to download the copy from i-Tunes (special thanks to my friend in the US for ordering it for me). So for days since the release last Wednesday, the my iPod and iTunes player only played Battle Studies songs, including his performances at the Ed Sullivan Theater in NYC, Beacon Theater in NYC and Music Hall of Williamsburg in Brooklyn (this dude has some weird adrenaline, being able to have 3 concerts in one week!)

My favorites:

Perfectly Lonely

Had a little love, but I spread it thin
Falling in her arms and out again
Made a bad name for my game around town
Tore up my heart, and shut it down
Nothing to do
Nowhere to be
A simple little kind of free
Nothing to do
No one but me
And that’s all I need
I’m perfectly lonely
I’m perfectly lonely
I’m perfectly lonely (Yeah)
‘Cause I don’t belong to anyone
Nobody belongs to me
I see friends around from time to time
When their ladies let them slip away
And when they ask me how I’m doing with mine
This is always what I say
Nothing to do
Nowhere to be
A simple little kind of free
Nothing to do
No one to be
Is it really hard to see?
Why I’m perfectly lonely
I’m perfectly lonely
I’m perfectly lonely
I’m perfectly lonely (Yeah)
‘Cause I don’t belong to anyone
Nobody belongs to me
And this is not to say
There never comes a day
I’ll take my chances and start again
And when I look behind
On all my younger times
I have to thank the wrongs that led me to a love so strong
[guitar solo]
I’m perfectly lonely
I’m perfectly lonely
I’m perfectly lonely (Yeah)
‘Cause I don’t belong to anyone
Nobody belongs to me
(That’s the way, that’s,that’s the way that I want it…)

 

It’s a sad song, really, but the way he did it made this perfectly lonely predicament of mine a little bit ok.

 

Half of My heart

I was born in the arms of imaginary friends
free to roam, made a home out of everywhere I’ve been
then you come crashing in, like the realest thing
trying my best to understand all that your love can bring
oh half of my heart’s got a grip on the situation
half of my heart takes time
half of my heart’s got a right mind to tell you
that I can’t keep loving you
oh, with half of my heart
I was made to believe i’d never love somebody else
I made a plan, stay the man who can only love himself
lonely was the song I sang, ’til the day you came
showing me a better way and all that my love can bring
oh half of my heart’s got a grip on the situation
half of my heart takes time
half of my heart’s got a right mind to tell you
that I can’t keep loving you
oh, with half of my heart
with half of my heart
your faith is strong
but I can only fall short for so long

time will hold, later on
you will hate that I never gave more to you than half of my heart
but I can’t stop loving you
but I can’t stop loving you
but I can’t stop loving you with half of my…
half of my heart
half of my heart
half of my heart’s got a real good imagination
half of my heart’s got you
half of my heart’s got a right mind to tell you
that half of my heart won’t do
half of my heart is a shotgun wedding to a bride with a paper ring
and half of my heart is the part of a man who’s never really loved anything

 

I’m not a fan of Taylor Swift, but the song hits me hard. Am I in that situation? I dunno, all I know is that the first time I heard it (One Splendid evening during this year’s Mayercraft), I couldn’t get it off my system.

 

Friends, Lovers or Nothing

Now that we are over
As the loving kind
We’ll be dreaming ways
To keep the good alive
Only when we want is not
A compromise
Ill be pouring tears
Into your drying eyes
Friends, lovers, or nothing
There can only be one
Friends, lovers, or nothing
We’ll never be the in between
So give it up
You whisper "Come on over"
Cause your two drinks in
But in the morning I will say
Good-bye again
Think we’ll never fall into
The jealous game
The streets will flood
With blood of those who felt the same
Friends, lovers, or nothing
You see
There can only be one
Friends, lovers, or nothing
We’ll never an in between
So give it up
Friends, lovers, or nothing
We can really only ever be one
Friends, lovers, or nothing
Don’t you know
We’ll never be the in between
So give it up
No we’ll never the in between
So give it up

 

Oh John, why do you have to sing these very sad songs?

 

Who Says

Who says I can’t get stoned?
Turn off the lights and the telephone
Me and my house alone
Who says I can’t get stoned?
Who says I can’t be free?
From all of the things that I used to be
Re-write my history
Who says I can’t be free?
It’s been a long night in New York City
It’s been a long night in Baton Rouge
I don’t remember you looking any better
But then again I don’t remember you
Who says I can’t get stoned?
Call up a girl that I used to know
Fake love for an hour or so
Who says I can’t get stoned?
Who says I can’t take time?
Meet all the girls on the county line
Then wait on fate to send a sign
Who says I can’t take time?
It’s been a long night in New York City
It’s been a long night in Austin too
I don’t remember you looking any better
But then again I don’t remember you
Who says I can’t get stoned?
Plan a trip to Japan alone
Doesn’t matter if I even go
Who says I can’t get stoned?
It’s been a long night in New York City
It’s been a long time since 20 too
I don’t remember you looking any better
But then again I don’t remember you

 

Aside from the fact that the song is somewhat a reflection of what he may be feeling right now, which me makes so envious, it’s the way his voice blends with the guitar. Very simple, very “Stop This Train”, very beautiful.

***

The album, as a whole, is about love that was unclear, gone, taken for granted, and longed. It’s like a storybook that reads itself aloud, whole-heartedly. That’s probably the best and only way I could describe it.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
One thought on “Weekend Playlist”

  1. Hey I totally thought this album was a bit of a sellout compared to John’s more talented stuff. maybe I’m to big of a critic but I thought that this was more of an okay album than a great one. Check my blog, jakeisdead (morethanccc.wordpress.com), I’ve seen John live twice, once with Ben Folds and again with Colbie Caillat. Huge John Mayer fan! Love your Blog and am officially a follower, please subscribe to mine. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

