See what the Filipino can do…

I thought I’ve already turned my back from the advertising world when I jumped to Client side but I should’ve known… being in Marketing Services now, there’s a chance that I will still get to visit it once in a while.

One such instance was the 21st Philippine Advertising Congress held in Subic Bay last November 18 to 20. Although I would always say that the I’ve attended too many AdCongresses in my lifetime as an ad slave (ha!) it was nice seeing familiar faces, listen to great forums and talks, witnessing unique and brave performances from individuals I’ve worked with and realizing that, however “cold” the industry’s culture may be, it can still find a way to show that is has a heart.

Here’s this year’s AdCon anthem, and no kidding, this gave me all the hope that I needed.

21st Phillipine Advertising Congress theme song

English Translation: (I know that it’s a “big sin” to translate someone else’s work – well that’s how I was taught when I worked in advertising – but I’m throwing that BS away and translate anyway as most of my readers do not understand Tagalog)

 

Will you let the waves tumble you down?

Or will you face the challenge?

Will you refuse to get up on your feet?

Or will you stand up and get out from the water?

 

Will you give in to the currents?

Or will you fight the thunderstorms?

Are you losing hope?

Or will you pour all your strength?

 

What do you think the Filipino can do

To show the world?

What do you think the Filipino can do

To show the world?

Get out from the water and unite.

Change is in our hands.

Show the world what the Filipino can do.

 

Will you let fear beat you?

Or will you fight the sadness?

Are the clouds covering you?

Or are you wearing the rainbow?

 

Will you give in to the currents?

Or will you fight the thunderstorms?

Are you losing hope?

Or will you pour all your strength?

 

What do you think the Filipino can do

To show the world?

What do you think the Filipino can do

To show the world?

Get out from the water and unite.

Change is in our hands.

Show the world what the Filipino can do.

 

There’s no choosing when it comes to helping out.

Let’s all unite, brown-skinned ones.

You or me, no one is selfish.

Let the blood of heroes flow.

Red, Yellow and Blue; 3 stars and 1 sun/

Stars that shine behind the clouds can be seen.

Hand in hand, hold on, don’t let go.

What do you think?

Together, let us hold hands/

3 stars and 1 sun.

And shout…

 

Will you give in to the currents?

Or will you fight the thunderstorms?

Are you losing hope?

Or will you pour all your strength?

 

What do you think the Filipino can do

To show the world?

What do you think the Filipino can do

To show the world?

Get out from the water and unite.

Change is in our hands.

Show the world what the Filipino can do.

 

What do you think the Filipino can do

To show the world?

Leave a Reply

