Goodbye Letter

Dear 2010,

Hi there.

How’s it going there in the past? Sorry I wasn’t able to give you a send-off that was as huge as the one I gave for 2009, I guess I was so excited preparing for 2011’s welcome party. But please allow me to give a few words as a short tribute to you.

You know, 2010, just like 2009, I am awed by how I was able to survive you. Yes, at the end of ‘09, I asked you to be gentle… only to realize that “gentle” can be relative. At the beginning of your term on earth, I was in the dumps. Work was shitty, lovelife was… well, weird, one of my best friends was in the US for work, but I was again kept up by diving, family and the sisterhood that was here in the Philippines.

 

End of your first quarter, the transition on my career has happened again, sisterhood was complete, diving was great, found a rah-rah guy in @maxovrdrive, family was strong, and lovelife was getting more weird. Nothing really much to talk about, except that the last few days of March became really significant and it involved SMS’ regarding night outs (either deliberately or by mistake), drinks in Bugsy’s and band night in Capone’s.

24561_339804761593_672726593_3489691_3781452_n

 

Second quarter was one big KABOOM. Career was chaotic at the start but showed signs of stability by May, sisterhood decided that Buffalo Wings are one of the best food trip finds for the year, the T House was the sisterhood destination for the summer, Ilocos was the clan’s, SMS’ became actual conversations, night outs became night ins, marathons became a goal, diving was exciting (got myself some new stuff while my regulator kept on testing my patience), end of a weird  lovelife, start of love that’s full of life, La Luz was our first trip, and it was never going to be the last, whew… great times, really.

ilocos 023

 

IMG_0520

 

Tagaytay 002

 

La Luz 031

 

Family was the theme for the third quarter. After 2 years, we were complete. Household was pleasantly noisy – and there was fear in me that the weight that was being endured by our 2nd floor will cause our house to cave in – as we celebrated our milestones. A friend also started her own family by marrying the love of her life, while I started loving the man of my dreams. “I love you’s” were exchanged, we helped save the earth, work has finally settled down, Dumaguete became a favorite place… I was so alive!

 _MG_0001

 

IMG_0686

 

Samsung photo0495

 

As the year drew to a close, all the challenges came knocking on my door. Work was again stressing me out (but made me so thankful for the transition), my mom left for the US for vacation, my dad became sick twice, Marble too, I had a flu and mild case of anxiety attack. Oh, John Mayer came by. Spent my birthday at home, spent my birthday weekend in Tagaytay, spent an awesome weekend in La Union, spent Christmas Eve in the hospital, spent my bonus to take care of Marble… but spent all these with the man I love who kept on reminding me that life should not be spent alone.

C360_2010-10-31 08-10-16

 

Tagaytay 006

 

IMG_0952

 

IMG_0939

 

37949_426418626593_672726593_4982827_726261_n

 

All in all, 2010, you gave me one helluva ride. Life was better. Working for the sea was nothing compared to being on the ground, the sea became a friend once again, my friends were part of my family, family was full of love, love was so present and strong, I received strength from my man, my man was here to stay.

Thank you and goodbye, 2010. I will never forget you.

Love, SORD

PS: Hey 2011, bring it on.

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “Goodbye Letter”

Leave a Reply

